Matt Martians Announces Solo LP x Drops a New Single “Diamond In Da Ruff”


Another piece of The Internet’s puzzle is dropping their project! Matt Martians announced yesterday on a thread of tweets that his new (and only) LP, The Drum Chord Theory, will be dropping January 27th. This will be Matt’s first endeavor away from The Internet since collaborating with The Jet Age of Tomorrow three years ago. On the track listing of The Drum Chord Theory, you can see there will be features and productions from fellow band members Syd, who is dropping her solo project February 3rd, and Steve Lacy, Kari Faux, Tyler, The Creator and more, which seems to be a recipe for some great “Feel Good” music coming our way.

Just when we thought the announcement was over, Matt also threw in a new single from the LP called “Diamond In Da Ruff.” This track reminds me of The Internet’s original sound on their debut project Purple Naked Ladies released in 2011. There’s definitely proof in the pudding of how Matt’s sound has thoroughly influenced and evolved The Internet as a whole. After Matt finishes his crooning of how he found a special gem, towards the end of the track is a hidden track produced by Steve Lacy and Kintaro called “Feelin,” which has a little bit of 90’s feel to it and compliments “Diamond In Da Rough” well. Shoutouts to Matt’s vocals!

Get into “Diamond in da Ruff” and “Feelin'” below!

Posted in BLOG, MUSIC Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,